Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Show

The bluebells are putting on a good show in the woods at the moment. I might do a close-up in a few days time, but for now here's a glimpse of them in context. Having said that, the cows have been let into the wood for the first time this year (just the other side of a fence to the left of this path), so we'll see what herbage survives.

In the meadow, there were Small Tortoiseshell, Green-veined White, Small White, Peacock, Comma and Brimstone and higher in the woods I finally saw my first Speckled Wood of the year bringing us into double figures of species. (I think I may have seen a Large White on a couple of occasions during the past fortnight, but they were fleeting glimpses and I didn't get close enough to confirm for sure.)

Butterfly Journal 2020

10. 22/04/2020  Speckled Wood, Spring Wood, Baildon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.