Joy of Joys!

Spent a lot of time gardening today, as indeed I have for the past few fine-weather weeks. A pair of robins have befriended me - one (the male, I think) has been particularly friendly. He has seemed to seek me out, not just cupboard love, but apparently wanting to befriend me. Well ... early this afternoon, I'd popped indoors and was heading out again when I stopped short as my friendly robin was sitting in the middle of the door step waiting for me. I quickly grabbed a few suet sprinkles and held them on my flat palm. Imagine my joy when the robin - twice - perched briefly on my hand as he collected a pellet. Each time he took it to the ground to eat it beside my foot. Can't begin to tell you how thrilled I was!

The day has carried on being wonderful as we went for a slightly different (but still isolated) walk. Saw two holly blues - the only butterflies I spotted today - and our first two swallows of the year! We also shepherded four lambs that had escaped under a gate back through it to the rest of the flock. But that was on the way home after we'd rejoined our regular route; to begin with we'd set off a way we've never walked before, only driven.

We would never normally walk down the busy main road towards Dartmouth, least of all in April, but that's exactly how we began our walk today. We saw views that normally would only be snatched glimpses through the car window, or unseen, such as the pools of bluebells hidden under trees beside the road. We also saw familiar views, but from a different from ususal angle. It was such a lovely walk that I've included some Extras, including my first visit to the sea's edge for months. Thought I'd give you a little wave (!)

And my poem for Day 22 in National Poetry Writing Month 2020:

Joy of joys: a robin
perches on my hand,
collects a suet sprinkle,
and eats it on the ground.

Then he's back for another:
Those almost weightless feet
feel like the touch of an angel
I never thought to meet.


© CW 2020

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.