wild things

By riverroamer

To sew or not to sew

I had a little project in mind which involved sewing about 8 straight lines to create channels to thread tape through. Easy! 
Well, I got the sewing machine out. But did I know what to do with it? I haven't used it for at least 15 years and it must be at least 30 years old.  First of all nothing powered up when I plugged it in. New fuse needed. Then no cotton on the bobbin.Then the fabric I was using refused to feed through creating a tangle of cotton. I then remembered a zip that had come unstitched so I tried that and I did manage to sew about six inches but it looked a mess. I seem to think there is a problem with the tension but, hey, what do I know?
I'd love to think that if I had a lovely new machine I would be suddenly be able to create masterpieces. But I am just kidding myself - I am never going to be able to sew. :(

I went out today for the first time to our large supermarket. It involved using the car(we can walk to the local shop) and it felt really weird to be driving again. The shop was quite empty so it was easy to socially distance and the shelves were reasonably well stocked - a far cry from the last time I went which was before lockdown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.