Running

The walk I did with Dan yesterday followed part of a route that I haven't run for a long time and I decided I'd go out and do that, today. Setting off just before nine, I ran down to Devil's Bridge to cross the Lune, took the footpath that bisects the caravan park, and then went up to the road that is just above the old railway line. From there it's a couple more miles to where we left the car, yesterday.

It's been interesting walking some of my running routes with Dan. There are so many things that I've never noticed or taken in before and I've been trying to suss out when I'm running the ratio of time spent looking at my feet, the scenery around me, and the road ahead. But trying to pay attention to that seems to throw it out and I don't know where to look!

What is amazing is how your body works when you're running. Take this stretch in the photo, which is the lower part of the path from Barkin Beck up to Bullpot Farm. It's evidently uneven, with lots of loose stones, and it's a little steeper than it looks, too. Yet as my eyes look at the path ahead, without any conscious effort from me, my brain sends messages down to my feet telling them where to go while my feet in turn send information back, so my ankles, knees, hips, shoulders, and arms all do their part in keeping me upright and moving. It's quite miraculous.

Of course, there was no stopping for a beer, today, and, in fact, I didn't go up to the cairn but stayed on Fell Road. Back through Casterton to Devil's Bridge and back up the A65, I threw an extra loop on at the end, just under a mile, to make it up to a half-marathon. Then stretch, shower, a couple of bagels, followed by a lovely post-run nap!

****
-9.8 kgs
Reading: Nothing yet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.