Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Stationery Nerd

It's World Stationery Day! After a busy day chock-filled with work and podcast editing, I decided to break out the fancy correspondence paper to write a letter. I bought some lovely writing sets when I got paired up with my third (and most recent) pen pal through the International Geek Girls Pen Pal Club last year, but sadly it was the third time a penpal stopped writing to me after one or two letters. I'm paranoid enough to let that stop me from signing up again, haha! Still, at least the sets might be put to good use during all this COVID-19 business.

I must say, I'm starting to struggle a bit more with staying home now. Of course I don't want to go out til it's safe to do so, but being at home for both work and not-work all the time is starting to make days blur together. I miss everyone, I miss restaurant food, I miss being able to go somewhere that's not just the roads around my house (we don't have a park near enough for me to walk to, so my exercise walks are dull as eff)... I'm also finding that all the NHS praise, clapping and discounts and so forth, are making me feel weirdly guilty..?? I have actually been working super hard to get money into the charity, and spend it on the things our patients and staff need right now, and the charity has been providing so much, but it still feels weird to me to accept praise when I'm not out there on the front lines. I haven't utilised any of the discounts for this reason, too. It feels disingenuous to get money off of takeaways and such when I'm sitting safely at home...

Anyhoo, on a positive note, I ordered a cactus today! Can't wait for my new little buddy to arrive! Cactus Lady is the new Cat Lady :P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.