Launch!

Many of my attempts to take a photo of a fantail turn out to be of the space the fantail has just vacated. Today, however, I captured one as it was taking off. When I pressed the shutter button it was perched on the twig growing off the diagonal branch, facing to the left. By the time the camera reacted the bird had already turned away, wings spread for maximum lift. One foot is lifted with toes wide, while the other still clung to the twig to act as pivot. The fanned tail is partly opened to act as rudder.

I saw a praying mantis today, the first for 9 days. It was a male, but I don’t know if was the same one that serviced the three females in the same area. See extra shot.

The day was heavily overcast. Both shots were taken with the flash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.