Snared

Dear Diary,

I could imagine this leaf blowing freely in the breeze, maybe last autumn, until it was snared by this vine.  Trapped, it was doomed to stay there all winter.  I think, at times, that I feel a bit like this leaf.  Ensnared by a set of circumstances not of my making.  But, here we are and here we are likely to stay for the foreseeable future.  I felt a deep connection with this leaf.  After I photographed it I set it free.  I am lucky that I have some places, free of other people, that I can wander to for inspiration.  I think I will be back at the pond today. 

DAY TWENTY THREE:  ”Sound was important to Thoreau. He spoke of the sound of the brook flowing through his very bones, affecting his circulations. Everything moves together to the sound of the water touching his senses, quickening his soul and continuing to pulse and flow who knows where? What kind of reciprocity is this? Here is an ecstasy that takes one beyond the senses and draws one more deeply into the physical world.”  - Douglas Christie  I like to think of a photograph as a symbol of this reciprocal relationship, the interaction between photographer and subject. When I notice a perception, when I feel resonance, my photograph honours the encounter - a visual namaste, if you will.  What perceptions arise when you approach your day with this sense of reciprocity?   I have always had this sense of reciprocity with nature.  We've had some great conversations in the past.  "Fly free little leaf.  I will join you when I am able."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.