Apodemus Sylvaticus

The gorgeous weather continues and now the wind has dropped so it feels much warmer.  I set up the camera with long lens on a tripod and settled down on a canvas chair in the garden to await the arrival of some interesting birds.  Purdy of course came to help and curled up at the base of the tripod.  This was not improving my chances of a good capture so I encouraged her to go to sleep somewhere else!  

I did take a number of bird pictures but it was great just to lie back and enjoy the warmth while watching the swallows high above.  Whilst so doing I became conscious of a slight movement and rustle on the ground to my right and spotted this wood mouse rootling about in the beech mast.  I was able to take a few frames before it disappeared into the undergrowth again.  It was a surprising sight in bright daylight as they are mostly nocturnal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.