Tongue Out: Testing Her Surroundings

I don't often get to see serpents at the DogPark. They usually are out hunting when there are no dogs or two-leggeds about. This 4 foot long Eastern Rat Snake was the exception. She was lying stretched out in a bit of sun under some pine trees. I almost stepped on her, she blended in so well with the pine needles! She was a long way from 'cover' where she could find safety from curious dogs and snake phobic humans. My first task was to keep the dogs away from her. Although Rat Snakes are non-venomous, they can and will bite to protect themselves. Fletcher slipped by me and went right up and stuck his nose in her face. She struck out at him, missing him, thankfully, but it scared him so much that he jumped straight up off the ground! I wish I had been able to get a video of the interaction! I thought about grabbing her just below her head, I've done this before but with much smaller snakes, but her size and attitude had me second guessing this approach! haha  
So I found a stout stick and was able to lift and carry her across the park and to a fenced more wild place. As soon as I dropped her to the ground she shot off into the undergrowth. 
I highly respect and love snakes. I consider it a good omen when I see one! I was very happy that I could help this one get to safety! 
I hope that you and your loved ones are healthy. C & I are doing well. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.