This is the side door of my garage, with two locks but no keys, the up and over door doesn't quite close and so isn't secure, the window has a board over it because it's broken and the roof could do with replacing. I knew all this before I bought the house and had a quote or two before lockdown, but then of course nothing. But hurrah the company I'm going with are back at work now!

I needed some good news, because last night's Coronavirus Update plunged me into despair. Even though I should have known that it was the case, Chris Whitty's outline of how long some form of social distancing would have to be in place upset me. A calendar year...  but at least Chris Whitty gave it us straight, instead of beating around the bush like a lot of them! 

I suppose Ramblers walks may be able to start again, with 2m between walkers, and perhaps climbing walls could open with reduced numbers admitted, but climbing outdoors? Call me selfish if you like, I suppose you're right.

As I neared home at the end of my walk this morning, I waited while a  grandma, mother and two daughters came past me. They said they were pretty sure that they'd all had the virus in recent weeks, but I'm not sure if that was the reason the two households were out together. The grandma told me that if it was all going to go on for another year, she thought that people would ignore much of the advice and live their life as they wanted. She may be right.

On my walk I managed to find sticks suitable for pea supports, so after a coffee in the sunshine I put them in before lunch. Then shopping and I really wanted to go to my old Asda so I did, it was a 15 minute drive and probably did the car some good as well as me!

There were two awkward bits of wallpapering left from yesterday's efforts, so after filling a few loads of holes in the small bedroom I donned my overalls and finished my bedroom. I've  just got to paint that wall and then fasten Flossie to it.... I may or may not show you Flossie, she's one of Dad's creations. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.