Family Heirloom

It’s been good to have Joshua home, never normally needing an excuse not to work, I can now relax with Josh and catch up, I’m also back to having regular telephone conversations with Sam who is now in her fourth week of isolation in east London.
The photograph shown today is clearly not one of mine but was forwarded to me by a Naval Historian and relates to my Blip of April 15th. The cleaning up of the shell casing continues between other jobs but I was intrigued by its calibre, 100mm, near enough 4inch, but clearly not British.
The historians did a little research and it turns out the shell is French, either Modèle 1891, Modèle 1892 or Modèle 1893 and was probably acquired by Clare’s Great Grandfather at Gallipoli.

Little bit of history identified.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.