kirstymill

By kirstymill

Golden elm blossom

I decided to walk to Leith Links for my walk today. It was after 5.30pm when I got there and what would normally be a busy park was really quiet (see extra). It's one of those things I know now to expect, but somehow it's still suprising. As I was walking across the Links I spotted this green blossom. It's something I've never consciously noticed before, though I must have walked past it many times. I had to look it up when I got home and it's apparently Golden Elm blossom. Not as flashy as the cherry blossom that's so obvious at the moment, but lovely in its own way.

One effect of lockdown is that I am tending to look closer at well known places and spaces when I do get out for my once a day walk. This means I'm spotting things I've never noticed before, like this blossom. Now that I know what it is, I'll certainly consider the trees in Leith Links in a new way way. I wonder what more I'll spot in the coming weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.