Serenity

It’s not that I’m bored...I’m really not. I’m churning out face masks and making what I like to think of as a ‘covid quilt’. I may have to redecorate a bedroom or buy another bed to use it, but it keeps me entertained.

When I can’t do that anymore, I can prune the clover ground cover that is taking over one of the mounds, trim the lemon tree, or do a twenty minute Zoom class. Today’s
was using a foam roller.

I have plenty to do. I can read, make cookies or give Ozzie (or myself!) a pedicure. I was able to sit outside this morning with my coffee, carefully averting my eyes from the newspaper. That, I think, is the problem...the news.

I am tired of numbers....cases, numbers of deaths, or of recovered. What do these numbers mean...especially since the only people being tested are those who are already sick? There is talk of hospitals being overwhelmed. Yet it all just seems so unreal. I don’t know if it is because I am isolated, or because everybody else is, but all this talk of numbers and statistics and models and curves, flat or otherwise, just seems soulless, as if these numbers do not represent real people.

I am tired of having an idiot for a president, and of all the self-serving politicians who seem to think that money and power are more important than people’s lives. That the states should just declare bankruptcy, that we should all just go back to work.

I am just tired....

But I am also very grateful. It was wonderful to Zoom again last night with Blipper Walking Wombat and have a peek into Wombat Hollow. It is wonderful to see the blue sky and feel the warm sun. I have a good family, good friends, and a good life.
There are bound to be silver linings to this cloud hanging over us just now. I’m sure they will become apparent as this situation continues to unfold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.