lifeanawthat

By colibaby

Weeping Silver Birch

My mother asked me to start blipping again as she is fed up looking at the loo roll in the last one I did, so I thought I'd better oblige.

Scottish Power send the tree people round every 3 years to cut/trim/decimate any trees that are in danger of hitting the electricity wires. We generally ask for them to leave the branches with us so they can eventually find their way into our stove.

So on pretty much the first day of our extended dry/warm spell I began hauling the branches from where they'd been left, taking them over to the 'vegetable patch' (we had ambitions once).

To make the job easier, and to improve the silver birch's shape I sawed off this low lying branch and then spent ages feeling very guilty for making it 'cry'. The sap was obviously at the rising stage:(

I believe that you can 'tap' a silver birch, just like maple trees, but I didn't taste it, that would have been too too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.