Horse Chestnut flowers

I had made the mistake last night of staying up too late so when I heard my husband getting up early to water the garden I was rather reluctant to get up. I did however a few minutes later and we headed off for our usual walk to the River Otter.  It was a bit cooler as we set off and a little hazy and we were both reminded of our early predawn visit in Cambodia to Angkor Watt, it must be the colder temperature with an expectation of a very warm day ahead. I also reflected on how this time in the morning really is very special.  We said a brief hello to a friend who was just starting his morning jog and continued our walk enjoying listening to the birdsong.  As we approached the river I was distracted by taking photos of the dew droplets on vegetation, small buttercup flowers and then the early morning sun backlighting last years grass seed heads.  As we stood on the bridge looking at the calm, tide in, water below I saw a small fish jump right out of the water.  This was repeated several times while we stood watching.  We headed up to the coastal footpath and these Horse Chestnut flowers looked beautiful at the beginning of the path. There were the usual lovely views over the estuary and we walked further up listening and watching a Skylark flying overhead. The Sea Thrift is also looking good now.  It was a lovely walk and we wandered back home for breakfast feeling much better for it.

In the afternoon I picked up some pre ordered flour at the local mill and then called in at the farm shop to pick up some vegetables and salad stuff.  This afternoon I was trying to get organised, I had signed up for various web seminars but couldn't remember the times they started.  I do hope I don't find the same problem I had with the last zoom meeting with the photography club.  In the middle of it I may have pressed a key inadvertently but the screen reduced in size considerably and I could only stretch it to a small extent.  I ended up having my eyes almost at the screen to view until we had a short break and I signed back in again.

It has ended up being a fairly cloudy day today, I'm not complaining though.  An early night tonight.  Thank you Bikerbear for continuing to host Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.