Experimenting again

Water and olive oil in a glass dish, with an image displayed on an iPad below. This time, I was trying to get (part of) the image below visible in the oil droplets. This proved to be a bit harder than I thought, because there are some variables to sort out: (1) distance between the camera and the water surface, (2) which extension tubes to use, (3) distance between the iPad and the dish, (4) the image to display and (5) the aperture to use to get the droplets in focus even though they don't all have the same size.

For this photo, I displayed an image of a virus on my iPad and then tried to get that image in focus in the droplets. I don't think I've mastered this yet, but it was fun trying and I do like this photo that came out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.