ferryoons

By ferryoons

Life lesson - how not to do takeaway pizza

The forecast was sunny but the haar took most of the morning to roll away, and the wind was chill. So the dog walk was around the streets of Cromarty, deserted, sticking to the sunny side for warmth and taking pictures to show you another time.
 
Now, in Sutor Creek, Cromarty has one of the top ten pizza restaurants in the UK. According to the Sunday Times anyway, and you know I always believe everything I read in the papers. In my opinion it’s the best, and I’m the expert, OK?
 
Restaurants being closed, force majeure, Sutor Creek is doing takeaway. Mrs F and I being in social isolation, picking that up is tricky, but it was achieved with careful choreography, conversations through closed doors, gloves and extra handwashing. One day I might not order seafood with extra anchovy, but “now is not the time”.
 
Mrs F and I realised, afterwards, that despite our great age and with countless pizzas under the belt, neither of us had ever eaten it takeaway. After careful dishing up onto plates nowhere big enough for a full size pizza, we ended up with untidy heaps of gorgeousness.
 
The life lesson? Eat takeaway pizza out of the box.
 
I couldn’t possibly show you what it looked like after we had served it up so, as any competent TV chef would say, here’s one I prepared earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.