Priory Church of St Mary

Today's the day ......................... to go to Lancaster

Headed south for some training today in Lancaster. It made me realise that although Lancaster is only about twenty miles from Kendal, it's a long time since I have spent any time in the city itself. Passing through on a train is the nearest I usually get.

And it's a very interesting place to explore. I had half an hour before I had to be at the training - so I could have a look round the hill-top site of Lancaster Castle, built in 1093 by Roger de Poitou, a cousin of William the Conqueror. Next to his castle, he established a Benedictine priory, dedicated to St Mary, as a cell of the Abbey of Saint Martin of Sées in Normandy, France.

There was too much to see - I made myself late for the training .......................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.