BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Big Cat Diary

Saturday, April 25th 2020

I’ve sat in this window
for far too long now.

Time moves s…l…o…w
…l…y.

They don’t think
to feed me.

I stay as still
as a stuffed toy.

Their little boy
gives me

a stroke
every time he passes.

My reaction is slight.
Imperceptible.

But each stroke
whets my appetite.




Thanks for the response to my previous blip – 
A Bright Future
I’m pleased it struck a chord with so many of you.



I posted this poem and photo almost 5 years ago. I’d forgotten about it but someone unexpectedly gave it a star recently, which brought it to my attention. I enjoyed it (after so long it feels like it’s nothing to do with me) and hope you will too. It seems like an appropriate blip for this Lockdown situation. I’ve changed the photo a little from the original and imperceptibly rewritten the poem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.