ANZAC Day

ANZAC Day is the the day that New Zealand and Australian people commemorate their compatriots who died in all the wars from WW1. Normally, in both countries, the main service is held at dawn in all the cities, towns and settlements. This year, because of COVID-19 our Prime Minister asked New Zealanders to stand in their driveways at 6am for one minute’s silence. On television this evening we saw thousands doing just that.

I took part, taking a radio out to the gate so that I could listen to the short service- The Last Post, brief prayers and speeches and the two national anthems. It wasn’t dawn here. In the fifteen minutes or so three vehicles went past. It was very eerie because I was alone in the dark. Then, during the minute’s silence I saw a torchlight bobbing behind some trees way in the distance. It stopped near a parallel road. Although the wind was cold I had a warm feeling of no longer being alone. I have no idea who was holding the torch.

NB I have no poppies in my garden at present. The poppy in this image is an old one. I photographed it on my computer screen, which is why it has an unusual texture. There is a living flower, a Fuchsia, in extra shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.