Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Carry on up the Bosphorus

Byzantium.  Constantinople.  Istanbul.  You can call it what you like, but tonight I should have been calling it 'home'.  I should have been there now enjoying wonderful Turkish food.  We wouldn't have seen much of the city though; just an overnight stop before tomorrow when we should have been heading off to Troy, and over the next ten days travelling along the Aegean coast of Turkey visiting such places as Pergamon, Izmir and Ephesus.  And all with an accompanying archaeologist to give us all the information we need to know and some that we don't.  But of course, I'm not there, I'm still at home.  We are enjoying Turkish food though; I've made a few dishes that we might just have been eating there for tonight's meal.

We'll still do the trip, but not until October 2021.  We got offered a good deal; this year's price (the brochure price next year is quite a bit higher) plus 20% of the cost as a discount on any other tour with the same company.  I'm pretty sure we'll be able to use that once the virus is under control.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.