paperTIGER

By papertiger

Mr. Hippopotamus.

I know there is strength in the differences between us.
I know there is comfort where we overlap.


-- Ani DiFranco


A huge part of my work is about community. When I run a workshop, whether with adults or with young people, it is essential that they feel safe, valued, and comfortable.

To this end, my weekly groups always begin with a circle where we share our news as a way of 'checking in' with each other. Some groups find this more difficult than others, but it is always worth the effort.

Often I pass something round as a way of indicating whose turn it is to speak. Tonight's object was Mr. Hippopotamus. Isn't he lovely? Apparently, I should have given him a name by now. Seriously? But he's a bath toy! Maybe so, but he's also really awesome. Why didn't I know this?

So, he's been named Gareth.

I'm not convinced...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.