The inaugural Edinburgh Golf Round

Back on the 17th April I blipped that we were planning a challenge to visit the 18 golf courses within Edinburgh. Well a few days ago I decided it would make a suitable substitute for the London Marathon (which would have been today) so at 9am today I set off to complete what we believe is the inaugural Edinburgh Golf Round

Rules: Start/Finish at the Golf Tavern. Visit the clubhouses of the 18 golf courses in Edinburgh in any order.

My order: Craigmillar Park, Prestonfield, Craigentinny, Portobello, Duddingston, Liberton,  Wee Braids, Braid Hills, Mortonhall, Merchants, Kingsknowe, Royal Burgess, Bruntsfield Links Golfing Society, SilverKnowes, Ravelston, Murrayfield, Carrick Knowe, Bruntsfield Links 

My route in the end was 47.5km. I planned the route myself so I'm interested if it can be optimised further...I can already see one bit which would have saved 400m but I think the order of the golf courses is right. Maybe would have been quicker in reverse, who knows? 

I only really decided to do this 5 days ago so the hill race on Tuesday wasn't perhaps the best build up in the lead up to it. 

J and M were top pals and supported me cycling along beside.

Nutrition wise I had a mixture of home-made banana flapjack, gels and active root. Looking back on it i think i dipped into the flapjack too early and too often as stomach became unsettled. I resorted to having to find a bush at WOL and wasted 2:45.

Hopefully the start of a new challenge for Edinburgh Runners.

This was me at the start, looking fresh. I took a photo at each club house but the photos didn't come out great with dirt on the lens and me looking tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.