The cygnets are hatching!

This morning I went for a walk from home but it took me a long time as I kept meeting people (neighbours and strangers) and everyone stopped for a chat. The reason for the excitement was the big story from the village, the cygnets on the castle moat are hatching!  There were four of them when I set off on my walk and by the time I'd got back two more were hatched.  The numbers are reported from people who'd seen them all - she was sitting on them each time I went to look (but hope to get a better photo in the coming days). It's now pouring with rain so I'm sure that they'll be well hidden under Mum's protective wings.

Everyone is so pleased as last year their eggs were smashed by person/people unknown.

I've tagged this as my entry for the Virtual Blipmeet (hosted by laurie54). The castle is only a few minutes away from my house so it makes a  regular appearance in my journal. I've made so many friends on Blipfoto both virtual and in reality and it's interesting to share experiences of lockdown and the crisis here in the UK and in other countries. Stay safe everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.