Fuel Allotments

The current lockdown has caused me to avidly scan Google Maps for interesting-looking local places to walk to.  Last week I was a little ashamed to discover that one of the spots I normally drive to was an easy 30min stroll from home.  Today's discovery was even closer, and I had never visited this area before!

Fuel Allotments date back to the Enclosures Act of 1801 which authorised the transfer of much common land in England into private hands with the intention of increasing food production across the country. In each parish, an area of land was to be designated to enable the poor to collect wood, sand and gravel to meet their everyday needs once they no longer had access to the newly enclosed common land.
The  Frimley Fuel Allotments were commissioned on 11 April 1826 and still support local charitable projects, though some of the land has since been sold or leased, including to one of the numerous golf courses in this area. 

This photo was taken along a 1 to 1.5mile circular woodland route squeezed up the centre of the golf course.  It was a lovely walk, and now I can't wait for Autumn as I suspect the wood might be host to my favourite subject .. fungi!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.