The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Blue Canary In The Outlet By The Light Switch ...

Following on from yesterday’s ramblings along the digital highway I stumbled across something else at the same time ..

Birdhouse In Your Soul by They Might Be Giants ... I’ve never given it much thought before yesterday ... just one of those quirky novelty songs of yesteryear ...

And then I clicked through to the Wikipedia entry for it ...

What an incredibly clever song ...

Okay so I haven’t got a Blue Canary night light so Mr X’s butterfly will have to suffice ..

What am I talking about ... well I guess your just have Wikipedia it yourself ... you’ll never listen to it the same again ...

“Blue canary in the outlet by the light switch
Who watches over you
Make a little birdhouse in your soul
Not to put too fine a point on it
Say I'm the only bee in your bonnet
Make a little birdhouse in your soul”

They Might Be Giants - 1990

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.