Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Online Sunday

Sundays seem to have become the busiest day of the week just now. I was rushed to get "to church" in time - left the breakfast dishes in order to be at my desktop computer in time to chat with the other people who'd already arrived on the zoom group that is our congregation these days. Our service overlapped with the Provincial one, a recording that went live at 11am, so by the time I caught up with it I'd already had a phone call from the Bishop (he was wonderful - you'd have thought there was a packed cathedral hanging on his words) and several text messages. The intercessions that caused me such angst on Tuesday had been well received, and I could relax over coffee with my (online) friends. (If you're interested, you can catch the service on YouTube for the next week)

With all this, and the necessity to make two lots of bread (sourdough that I've just this minute remember to knock back for tomorrow), it was after 4.30pm before we went out for a walk. Because we didn't have long, and because the streets were much quieter than earlier, we walked down the shore road out of town for a bit. There are several of these geese, who often come ashore to be fed by people who turn up regularly, but today were pottering about among the seaweedy rocks. I made a little video of them too, but you'll just have to imagine the soothing sound of the tiny waves and a background of birds in the trees behind the road. All surprisingly lovely - it can be a bleak bit of shore, but the colours in the sunlight were particularly pleasing.

Interesting to see that politics are coming back to life after the initial shock of the situation and the fiction that it wasn't a time to question the leaders who were - we were told - doing the very best of jobs in this crisis. Enough for me to say that I'm yet again very relieved to live in Scotland ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.