Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Dolores S scale warehouse cores done

Yesterday and today I finished building the black foam core "structural cores" for the three warehouses I am scratch-building for Dolores.  They are, from left to right, the Montezuma Creamery, the Bean Warehouse, and the Feed Warehouse.  Not totally sure those were the actual names.  I had drawings for the Creamery and the Feed Warehouse - and fudged the Bean Warehouse from photos and the visit to that wonderful layout in Seattle. The warehouses on the right will be clad on top of the foam core with board and baton for one, and horizontal siding for the other.  The creamery will be totally covered with corrugated siding. All roofs will be corrugated roofing.  

I have the wood siding as well as the wood board and baton siding - purchased long ago from a place in Canada.  I will use Wild West scale paper metal siding and roofing - just easier to work with than the metal stuff - like the Conoco building used.  Painted and weathered it looks almost as good.  I also have all the windows and doors for the right side buildings and have ordered more for the Creamery (from San Juan Details - a newish company that has taken over the Grant Line). If I get industrious I may build the back walls that don't show.  We will see.

I changed my structures somewhat as I liked the mockup of the two warehouses on the right.  And once I saw the photo of the Creamery warehouse (in Seattle) it fit just fine on the left.  Obviously some artistic shortening to all of them, and the placement is not precisely as it was.  But looks right to me.  Close enough.  This is FUN!

On to cutting out the siding and the window and door openings.  I thought that as long as I was at it, I might as well do al three.

The open spot to the right of the Creamery will be a small cabin, outhouse, and a blacksmith shop.  The blacksmith kit is a kit bought long ago and out of production. Has a total interior with hearth and tools, etc.  Should be fun when I get to it.  I also have a Aspen Model's blacksmith shoeing a horse - to be painted.  Always another project. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.