A surprise

LDC, NSLLDC and I spent the morning at the allotment, digging and weeding. When we started, I launched a challenge. As the allotments are situated where there used to be a golf course, I said that who found more golf balls would be the winner. NSLLDC found one on his very first day, and he was on the lead until this morning! 
While I was weeding, I found the object in the picture. Pretty rock, I said! I’ll keep it! (Incidentally, I love pebbles, rocks, stones...) LDC started joking about the fact it looks like a tooth and apparently his friend G, who used to be a golf player and has played in this area, is missing a tooth. (Incidentally, we’ve sent G a picture, but he swears it’s not his!) I went back home, washed it and then I sent a picture to my brother, who is a geologist. “Where have you found it?” was his question! “Allotment!”, was my answer. “It can be a tooth or the end part of the rostrum of a belemnite.”

A what???

Well, dear Blippers, I did a little research and I want to believe my brother's second answer is correct! It looks exactly like it! And this area looks the perfect place to have found one!

It’s not a golf ball, I know! But it’s a lot cooler! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.