Another fine day

Because it was still sunny and the air was so crisp and clear we decided to go for a 15 km or 9 mile walk, over 22000 steps and a fair bit of climbing, from our house to Simonside. And back.

I stepped about a foot from an adder. Mr C was behind me and shouted so it got a fright and slithered away. It was a handsome specimen but I was too slow in getting the phone out.

We could see where the fire had almost got to the trees and the hillside was totally brown.

We had such amazing views to the Border Ridge in the NW, Cheviot, the highest hill in the area, the sparkling sea to the east and even a high rise block could just be made out in Newcastle, 30 miles away to the south. It was a fabulous day which I’m suffering for now with my foot but I can rest it tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.