ferryoons

By ferryoons

Help needed from arty folk, please

Every time I walk down here I get a powerful memory tug from another place, another time. I have a foggy memory of when I was working across Europe around 1990. Every time I went to Paris I reserved a morning for the Musée d'Orsay.

There is an impressionist painting of a view down a steeply sloping street. I've been researching and found Cézanne's La Maison du Pendu, but it doesn't really chime. Does anyone have another suggestion I could check out?

That apart, I embarrassed myself this morning, out with the dog. It was deserted as usual, and so quiet that the most prominent sound was raindrops smacking onto my jacket, not too frequently to be uncomfortable.

I often sing to the dog when I think (hope) nobody's listening, as one or two who have actually come upon me unawares can testify. And yep, there I was warbling about ploughing seeds and scattering and "soft refreshing rain" into empty space which turned out not to be as empty as I thought.

Blush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.