BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 37

Imprisonment - Day thirty seven 
Monday 27th April 2020

Cycling Statistics 
Cars - 23
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 1
Dog walkers - 4
Walkers - 3
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 8.9c

It was the first dull morning for a long time but I'm glad that it soon brightened up and became an ideal day for spraying a topcoat onto the Bentley as there was little to no wind and it was not too hot.

The topcoat is a lot more difficult to spray than the undercoat. The undercoat went on well however I sprayed it but the topcoat needs a lot more care when mixing and spraying. I find that a thinner mix than the recommended one paint to one thinners works a lot better I reckon that about 3:1 seems best and gives a smoother glossier finish. Fortunately I am going to spray two layers of topcoat so I was able the experiment with the first coat as I will need to flat it back with a fine grade wet & dry.

I managed to get three quarters of the car sprayed today and hopefully the weather will be kind tomorrow and allow me to finish the last quarter as fingers crossed I've just got enough paint to finish the first coat.

I m quite pleased with what I've done so far but the top coat does magnify any small blemishes and when I rub it down again I will need to attend to these areas. So it's going to be a long long job.

Still Ros posted off my colour sample so hopefully the paint will arrive by the end of the week so it gives me plenty of time to prepare. 

When we were in South Africa Ros bought our Grandchildren a selection of wooden animals and as we've not seen them since we got back in March she's decided to post them an animal each week. Today she posted a couple of lions and a lion story book.

Ros' car is already covered with yellow pollen dust again. I'm glad we don't get hay-fever as the air must be full of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.