Measuring Wheel

I wasn’t sure what this little device was called so I Googled “measuring wheel”, and guess what, it’s called a “measuring wheel” and they are still sold today.  Further looking revealed that it is also called an  ‘opisometer’ and in better condition would be worth about £30.  I had to give it a little tender loving care (WD40) to get it working again.
 
This was my father’s from when he was with the Woodstock ‘St John Ambulance Brigade’ and dates from the late nineteen forties after the war, and was always in use as he was on call.   The extra shows it on an old one-inch OS map, but not of where it would have been used.  My small collection of one-inch maps don’t seem to include where we lived in Oxfordshire.
 
Many thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting Tiny Tuesday and suggesting that we raided our junk draw (I think).  I shall take better care of this little opisometer now.


Ps - for those interested the map at extra is a ‘One-Inch Map of Great Britain, National Grid Seventh Series, Sheet 94, Preston, Published 1961, Price 7/6’ (that’s seven shillings and six pence to the youngsters out there, or 37.5p in that new money for the very young . . .).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.