OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Black-headed Gull

I like the elegant shape, and the reflection, this gull makes as it was picking food from the seaweed, normally I wouldn't use a shot where the head was missing! The Peedie Sea had a lot more hirundines than yesterday when there was about 15 there. Today between 30 and 35 sand martins, house martins and swallows over the water as I went past. Yet on my return from my exercise, they were all gone. Along the shore was a gannet. Usually, you won't see a gannet on the shore unless it is injured but it looked okay. It paddled off into the see. Later, though, I saw it in a field by the main road. I think it may have been in a battle with a great skua, someone reported seeing such an incident later not far away. I reported it to the SSPCA. I wouldn't tackle such a bird myself- I read of a case in Wales where a man picked one up and lost an eye! The extra is a windblown wheatear.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.