That's me in the middle!

Lock Down day 36.

It's rained just about all day... This morning we drove into Cambridge to pick up some bits that Claire had bought for us. Importantly she had managed to get some elastic (knicker type) for Margaret to make face masks... I've got a feeling that we're going to need them by the end of the week.

Spent the rest of the day sorting through stuff in the attic and unearthed more negatives and other photography bits and pieces. This rather posed photo was taken by a mate with my camera. After my time with the Army Air Corps I was posted to the 2nd Tank Regiment and for a while I had this 434 to play with... The FV434 was the Armoured Repair Vehicle variant of the British Army's FV430 series of armoured fighting vehicles. Introduced in the 1960s primarily as a means of quickly changing Chieftain MBT power packs in the field. I don't remember the exact circumstance of why, the unit was a crew short and I was in charge of a scratch crew to take this beast on exercise. To do that I had to pass the track vehicle driving course, which was three times round the tank park.


This photo was taken on an early spring exercise and we've just arrived in a German forest... In those days we seemed to be able to go anywhere we liked. You can just see the rifle belonging to the guy taking the photo propped against the tree...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.