Point and Shoot

By shirleypickford

Desk Treasures

Schoolnet business card, Anglia Polytechnic pass, Situational Leadership card and a pen decorated with dragons were rediscovered in a desk drawer, along with a plastic part for a roller blind, an eraser and a bottle of lavender oil.  

The oldest find is probably the wallet-sized reminder of leadership styles from a course taken while I was on sabbatical from teaching at a London comprehensive school.  After 20 years of teaching, it was the best professional training I had ever been given.  I thought I would make good use of it when I returned to classroom teaching, though I never did because I changed  direction to make better use of computer skills.  The business card was the main role during the sabbatical, when I worked with London schools on the Tesco Schoolnet 2000 website project.

The Anglia Polytechnic pass expired in 1999, before I started working for Ultralab at Anglia.  I had almost forgotten that my first experience of reflective inquiry was also part of the sabbatical.

The pen reminds me of a traditional Chinese silver bracelet engraved with a dragon and phoenix, a gift from one of my mother's oldest friends.

Each object brings back moments, so most of them will go back into a drawer.  Only the lavender oil will be used today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.