Andy Tang's Photo Journal

By AndyTang

Good Health...

Do you remember taking your health for granted? Some of you probably still do...

As I documented in an earlier blip, I have high blood pressure and before then I took my health for granted.

It seems that I will have to take pills for the rest of my life, but that has to be better than dying of a stroke or heart related illness!

After going through a course of ever increasing medication levels (1.25mg to 2.5mg to 5mg to 10mg) with little effect and now a combination of pills, my blood pressure seems to finally be lowering.

It's not perfect and could be lower, but as we only started this treatment last week, it's going the right way, especially when you think when I was under 24 hour monitoring my average for 180/110 (to those who don't know... that's too high!)

My grandfathers had high blood pressure and my father is on high blood pressure medication. If your family has a history of high blood pressure, get it checked, as there are no signs until the worse happens. My younger brother got his checked recently and fortunately everything looks normal.

I would recommend reading more about it here: http://www.bloodpressureuk.org/BloodPressureandyou/Thebasics/Bloodpressurechart

As a side, after a fast day yesterday I'm currently at 86Kg, which would mean I'm still 5Kg away from the top end of the "normal" or "healthy" BMI...

Until today, when I was reading this: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-21229387 which moves the top end of the "normal" BMI from being 5Kg to 2Kg away!!

A good heath day for me then, the blood pressure is coming down, I'm losing weight and I got a helping hand to moving towards a healthy BMI! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.