Out of the shadows

On our way to the waterbus - the vaporetto - on a chilly, misty morning in Venice, the path took us through this eerie underpass. I saw a child in a hooded red coat dodging behind one of the pillars; or maybe it was a trick of the light.

It was the briefest of visits with some dreadful weather on our only full day, but we crammed in a lot of walking, enough to start putting together a gallery, some of which I've decided to put in a separate gallery of monochrome shots. With more time I'd have taken a tripod and lingered over compositions but I like the rawness of street photography and have had a lot of fun with some of the grainier shots like this one.

I'm a fan of Edward Hopper and like the way he explores light coming in to buildings and through windows, often highlighting on people.

Back in Blighty now to a mild but miserable day. Not that I care. I've got my blip. Thanks for the comments these past three days and sorry I haven't been able to reciprocate much. I'll do some catching up over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.