Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Pretty in Pink

Earlier than normal at the pool this morning. I had the pleasant experience of having a shower (the open communal showers in the pool area, lest you get the wrong idea) with a rather buff (got that word from Lazooligirl) young man. We had a chat about the pool. He was was off to work. I did not bore him with my proposed zoo visit.

Another interesting talk, this time in the Budongo Trail. This is an amazing new facility (5 years old) with huge areas for the chimps, big viewing windows and a lecture theatre. We saw the outside last week. I spent ages watching them and taking photos.

I was focusing the camera on a chimp just above me. I couldn't see which way he was, he was kind of curled up. But I saw the nose, eyes... Yes! That's his face, zoomed in. Then the chimp got up and moved off. It was not his face, but his bum! It definitely had a (rather grotesque) face, but I shall spare you.

The talk was by the chap in charge of Living Collections, and he showed us the film that he used last year when they went to collect the chairmanship of the EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria) which is passed round a bit like the Olympics, with much ceremony and folding of flags. Edinburgh Zoo is apparently a well regarded institution in such circles and the visit by all the European delegates here next year is much anticipated by all.

This is how the film started, over lovely views of Edinburgh, with dreamy, appropriate music:

'Edinburgh is famous for it's architecture, it's culture, it's scenery, and it's Zoo...'

Now some of you will be bristling, as I was. One of my many pet hates is the stray apostrophe. It's one thing on butchers' windows, but it's quite another on an international presentation! If you're not sure - you check!

I could not let it pass. I went to speak to the chap at the end to congratulate him on the interesting talk. Oh, and by the way - there's wrong spelling in your film. He claimed no responsibility. The film was made by an outside professional body. (That's worse!). However, he did say he needed to change the dates before he used it again, and so would get the stray apostrophes removed. I wonder if he will...

All during the talk, every now and again, there would be loud bangings and whoopings. The staff during their tea break? No. The alpha male chimp being challenged, sometimes quite viciously.

But the shot I chose today was of a wee girl in pink. She was absolutely delighted to see the strange pink birds.

The bus driver on the way home greeted everyone with a 'How are you today?' and when we left he said, 'Goodbye, thank you. Have a nice day.'

Now, while I agree that Edinburgh bus drivers are pretty good on the whole, it MUST be this chap's first day! Hope he keeps it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.