Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Warming up

Eflutefest do a daily warm up live on Zoom at 0830 each morning.  I'm afraid that's much too early for me - I catch up with the recording of the session several hours later, before moving on to do my personal flute practice.  

Today's session was a selection of 5 note scales (music up on the tablet screen for those of us who struggle to do scales without music), and with a metronome to keep you regular - that's what the mobile is for.

I then did some practising from yesterday's warm up - which was from Moyse "On Sonority", and was REALLY good.  Later, I watched a "Living room concert" for half an hour, by Wissam Boustany, and then an informal masterclass run by my usual teacher.

After yesterday's session, when we were told that "On Sonority" should be on every flute player's shelf, I looked it up with a view to buying a copy, but at £20 for a 24 page book, I thought it was just a bit too expensive!  Especially as much of it is way beyond my ability.  I did eventually find a copy on Scribd, after taking out a subscription that I can cancel next month, and have downloaded the scans of pages I will be able to use.

What with eFlutefest, regular exercise sessions, keeping up with our Spanish practice, working in the garden, and evenings being educated with Shakespeare plays or concerts, we're lucky in finding Lockdown is not too onerous, and I don't know when we ever found time to go out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.