memento

By memento

Liquid treachery

At 7:30 this morning, I was gearing up to capture, kennel and take the kitty to the vet for her dental cleaning/extractions. Her early, feral life has left her with some type of auto-immune disease that attacks her gums and teeth, leading to accelerated tooth decay and severe gingivitis. She might be coming home today with nothing but her two teeny canines. Really? Those are actually the ones that inflict the most damage when she decides to bite. I have a few scratches from grabbing her after we corralled her into the kitchen with no place to go.

As I surveyed the weather situation, what looked like mostly wet pavement and driveway, turned out to be a thin sheet of ice. It was slow going to get to the vet and returning, one block away from home, a single car coming the other way started honking at me from quite a distance. For a moment I couldn't figure out why the driver was so honk happy, then I realized that she was completely out of control, sliding down the street with locked wheels. To miss me, she turned her wheels too rapidly and started fish-tailing, then spinning, finally coming to a halt against the sidewalk snowbank. Her eyes were bigger than baseballs. Everyone alright, cars too, so phew and double phew.

It's going to be a long day till 5:30 when I can pick the patient up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.