KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Iris

The German Bearded Iris in my garden just started to bloom this morning. It was a chilly morning, only in the mid-50's F (13 C) and a bit of a breeze blowing. But the garden has been thriving in our mild spring weather and occasional rain showers. The iris are really stunning this year. I guess the biggest factor is that I've managed to finally control the slug population so that they actually have a chance to bloom! In years past, the slugs would start eating the blossoms long before they reached full bloom.

I've always loved German Iris since my mother had them in her garden on the northeast coast of Massachusetts. She had some absolutely enormous deep purple ones that I would love to find someday for my own garden. And they smelled just like iris do...sort of grapey if you know what I mean.


I feel like I could get lost in the luscious purple folds of this iris...can't you just smell it? Stunning shapes and textures and beards...just can't get enough of these during their short blooming period!

A women's group that I belong to sent along this poem by Brene Brown today (amazing woman if you haven't heard of her Brene Brown):

We will not go back to normal.
Normal never was. Our pre-corona
existence was not normal other 
than we normalized greed
inequity, exhaustion, depletion
extraction
disconnection
confusion
rage, hoarding
hate and lack.
We should 
not long to return
my friends.
We are being given
the opportunity
to stitch a new garment.
One that fits
all of humanity
and nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.