rogier64

By rogier64

Young Lettuce

During this wet and grey day I took some photo's inside.
It resulted in this blip that reminded me of a poem of a famous dutch poet, Rutger Kopland (1934-2012).
Here it is in dutch:

Alles kan ik verdragen,
het verdorren van bonen,
stervende bloemen, het hoekje
aardappelen kan ik met droge ogen
zien rooien, daar ben ik
werkelijk hard in.

Maar jonge sla in september,
Net geplant, slap nog,
In vochtige bedjes, nee.


An (good) attempt for an english translation (by Ria Leigh-Loohuizen):

Young Lettuce

I can take it all,
the withering of beans,
flowers dying, with dry
eyes I can see the potatoes being
dug up, when it comes
to those, I'm really tough.

But young lettuce in September,
just planted, still limp,
in little moist beds, no.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.