Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

Little pud

Tfi Friday. How many weeks have we done now? I can't remember!

Been feeling anxious last few days. Been thinking about how we go about opening up and returning to work, if lock down is relaxed and how we do it safely. Know it's a few weeks away but I need to make some preps.

Lots of dog walkers haven't stopped at all. They've chosen to ignore guidelines stating they're not law. For me it was clear we couldn't continue to operate safely and morally it wasn't right to stay open even though we hadn't specifically been told to close, to do so would just be greedy and selfish and risking lives. The problem is it's not going to change for a long long time. So soon the government help is going to stop and we'll be forced to return to work or close for good.

So I've started to look at what other walkers are doing. Since there are studies saying it can be carried on a dogs fur people have been spraying with a special disinfectant spray which is rapidly becoming out of stock. You can get a 50ml dropper bottle for £7 at the mo, abutting bigger is sold out. We'd get through 20 of those a day at least. I managed to find a similar product and spent £50 getting a few bottles before that's out of stock too just so we are in a position to open when lock down is relaxed. Only I've just read a load of info from another source basically saying you're wasting your money as it won't be effective unless you can totally saturate the coat (every hair) and really work it in etc etc and that actually soap and water is best to break down the fat layer. It's not going to be feasible to wash every dog before and after their walks. I just don't know how we're ever going to be able to start back up. And really how much risk is there from getting it off a dogs fur or each dog passing it on to each other. They'd have to be from an infected household. Think the risk is slim to be honest but it's there and the consequences could be fatal for someone so I just keep going round in a circle with it. How do I make a decision?

I'm mighty pissed off that some people have just carried on as normal. What is the point in me risking my business and closing when others just carry on like nothing is happening?! It feels like it's all for nothing.

Anyway despite all that swirling round and round in my head, I had a nice afternoon. Tobes came to the yard to ride. Did well and Jack was great. Then went on a big family dog walk when we got back. Didn't see anyone. Played lots of scenting games with Nell. Light was beautiful on the hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.