One off the to-do list

Ma was transferred from hospital to the nursing home this morning. Unfortunately due to a communication error (despite asking several times the ward forgot to ring me when she left) I wasn't there when she arrived as I'd hoped to be. But when I arrived she was clearly quite happy to be there. No distress or difficult behaviour and happily took a cup of tea and two wafer biscuits off me. The custard cream however was shoved under her thigh, so perhaps not a favourite any longer!

Her room is bright and spacious, with a view over the gardens and an en suite loo and wash hand basin. I will gradually transfer her bits and bobs over the next few days - pictures, photos and so on - to make it more personal for her. I know she doesn't really look at them but hopefully subliminally it will bring a feeling of familiarity to her.

Today officially marks the end of my role as a carer. It is a very strange feeling and not one I that I like but as ever, this has never been about me and always about what is best for Ma. And this is the best thing for her now.

Next on the list is getting the house on the market, I have estate agents coming Thurs and Tues to do a valuation. So getting things clean and tidy tomorrow will keep me far too busy to get upset about all of this.

(yes I am whistling in the wind a bit, indulge me)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.