Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Les Roses de Saadi

J’ai voulu ce matin te rapporter des roses ;
Mais j’en avais tant pris dans mes ceintures closes
Que les noeuds trop serrés n’ont pu les contenir.
Les noeuds ont éclaté. Les roses envolées
Dans le vent, à la mer s’en sont toutes allées.
Elles ont suivi l’eau pour ne plus revenir ;
La vague en a paru rouge et comme enflammée.
Ce soir, ma robe encore en est tout embaumée…
Respires-en sur moi l’odorant souvenir.




*********



We had our Writer's Group meeting by zoom this morning.     We were all asked to open the session by reciting one of our favourite poems.     I love this poem, its beautiful.So I recited in my very hesitant french.
To illustrate the poem for Blip I went into the garden and took some petals from a very early rose called Roseraie de l'Hay.    It's a highly scented rose with lovely foliage.     I set it on a background of a blue velvet teeshirt and to the  left you can see part of a very pretty summer dress I have.   The poem is about a woman who goes into the garden to gather roses in her dress for her lover.  But she is greedy and takes too much.   They disperse and fall into the sea.
The group by zoom was very enjoyable.    There are talented writers and poets in the group and happy to assist one another.    I had a short story critiqued and many recommendations were pointed out to me.    (e.g. I use to many adjectives oooops)

I am going to make a spaghetti dinner for my self and watch the Guernsey Potato Society film on the telly.

Happy Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.