and through the wire...

By hesscat

Pipemania!

I loved that game... I also love before, during and after photos.

I got my mojo into gear eventually today to begin a job I dreamt up last year, got the parts, but because it involved an interruption to our water, I wanted to do it without any deadlines! 

We've had a filtration system for our water for a few years now and later added a pump which is to the bottom left. However because the water is quite aggressive (calm it down mate) and has natural "additives" it didn't last that long, some grit got stuck and it just whined. So on replacement, I looked to move the pump to after the first filter on the left, but that required a pipe rejig. Hence photos 1, 2, 3 and 4.

At that point you might think... er... pump is in the same place? Yup, the pump is on copper pipes, the filters on plastic, I need to evaluate pump fittings for that and do some copper pipe work. So I skipped that, and continued with the rejig to create space for the pump move - it will now fit in between filter 1 and 2 sometime in the future.

It was fun, i remember drawing loads of diagrams originally to work out how it needed to flow around this space to feed into everything - just like pipemania but not the rush. I had one leak, a plastic pipe that wasn't tight but I was expecting more... fingers crossed I haven't jinxed myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.