Look Ma, I’m Dancin’!

The poppies are just beginning to pop! That’s why they’re called poppies. Pop! Pop! Pop!  That’s about the caliber of my thinking today. 

We planted a couple of tomato starts and a pepper plant that my son brought over. They are in a bed that will be irrigated, since they’re not good candidates for dry farming. Brandywine and Carbon are the varieties, heirlooms from what I can read. They may need more heat than we usually can muster here, but it’s a good experiment. Planting takes a lot longer when there are two of you.  I can’t get down to the ground, so I point and issue lots of instructions. Mr S digs and gets to play in the dirt, the job I would prefer. But it gets done, managing to save the nearby lettuce plants that are just starting to look lush. And we add a Bishop’s Hat pepper to the row, after reading it can grow over four feet tall. 

I am actually trying to weed a little. I figured I could sit on my nice garden bench and do a little at a time. And if I stand for a bit I can deadhead the roses. When I get to something I can’t manage I interrupt Mr S and do more pointing and yakking. Some little amount gets done. I am so looking forward to the ban on gardening being lifted. We need help! I already have a call to the woman who works with us and fingers crossed that she can come soon. 

SIP 48, ankle 17

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.