Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

May Day Bank Holiday

and Bray promenade is barricaded off. Access to the beach is allowed but there is virtually no parking to be had. The barricading extends most of the way along the seafront. I was there at 6.30am and parked shall we say liberally.

****

Today marks my 20th year anniversary of working in Bray. (Seaside town on Ireland’s east coast in North Co. Wicklow). I thought I would celebrate with a glass of wine this evening. So as I know nothing about wine, I rang my friend Liz yesterday as she is an expert.....

Liz Do you remember the wine you served at the New year’s day lunch that I said to you was very good.

No Jean - sure how would I remember that?

Ah you do Liz. I said to you then that it had a tractor on the label

Prolonged silence coming down the phone from Liz

Jean wudja stop that nonsense. I have never seen a bottle of wine with a tractor on the label

Excuse me Liz I am quite certain I am right.

Well Jean if I did serve such a wine, it must have been a gift brought by one of the 10 guests and I was serving it to get rid of it

Pause here for a 5 minute laugh from both of us

Liz I am surprised at you- that’s a dreadful admission.

(Note to readers... Liz and I know one another for donkey’s years and we are very frank with each other).

Jean Please never drink wine with a tractor on the label. It’s most likely to be hooch

(More laughs)

Here follows 20 minutes of tennis talk.


Ok Liz see you soon. Bi for now
Bi Jean


*****


Well anyone who knows me would know that I am now obsessed with finding this tractor wine and when I do, I will buy 2 bottles. One for me and one for Liz

Me chuckling to myself

Enjoy your Bank Holiday folks

***


Practical Philosophy Ireland are starting their online Intro Course this week with a knockdown price of 10 euros. Done by zoom and sounds interesting. I have signed up. See link. This is final day for application

https://practicalphilosophy.ie/course/practical-philosophy-part-1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.