Hairy Dragonfly

Another early morning walk down to the river, where I had a long chat with a local astrophotographer. By the time I headed home the sun was  warm and quite a few insects had emerged, many of which were posing quite nicely. I was absorbed in trying to photograph a tiny planthopper on some White Poplar leaves, and just as I'd finished this freshly emerged dragonfly took off from a nearby bramble leaf. I cursed, as I thought I'd blown any chance of taking its portrait. However, I hung around in the warm sheltered corner where it was hunting, and after a few minutes it flew back down and settled not far away. I was then able to creep slowly closer and bag my first dragonfly shot of the year.  

The Hairy Dragonfly is the earliest dragonfly to emerge in the UK, on the wing from May to July. Hawkers are the largest and fastest flying dragonflies. They catch their insect-prey mid-air and can hover and fly backwards.If seen well, the short hairs all over the body make the Hairy Dragonfly unmistakeable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.